National Steering Board

The National Steering Board (NSB) is the highest governing body of SPHN and is responsible for the overall strategy, for maintaining regular contacts to the superordinate political authorities and for external communications in coordination with the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS).


The NSB includes representatives from key institutions in Switzerland (e.g. University Hospitals, universities, ETH-Domain, swissuniversities, FOPH, SNSF). The integration of representatives from additional institutions (e.g. private hospitals, health insurances, industry) is foreseen in the future. The members of the NSB are appointed by SAMS.


The brackets indicate the institution represented by the members, if different from their affiliation. 


Prof. Ron Appel

University of Geneva (SIB)

Prof. Herbert Binggeli

Bern University of Applied Sciences (swissuniversities)

Prof. Mirjam Christ-Crain

University Hospital Basel (Cluster Zurich-Basel)

Dr. Katrin Crameri

Federal Office of Public Health

Prof. Urs Frey

University Children's Hospital of Basel (SAMS)

Prof. Matthias Gugger

University Hospital Bern (Cluster Geneva-Lausanne-Bern)

Prof. Detlef Günther

ETH Zürich

Prof. Nouria Hernandez

University of Lausanne (swissuniversities)

Prof. Denis Hochstrasser

University of Geneva

Prof. Christoph Hock

University of Zurich (swissuniversities)

Prof. Peter Meier-Abt

Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences

Prof. Arnaud Perrier

University Hospital Geneva (Cluster Geneva-Lausanne-Bern)

Prof. Anita Rauch

University of Zurich (SAMS)

Prof. Gabriela Senti

University Hospital Zurich (Cluster Zurich-Basel)

Prof. Dominique Soldati-Favre

University of Geneva (SNSF)

Prof. Jean-Daniel Tissot

University Hospital Lausanne (Cluster Geneva-Lausanne-Bern)

Prof. Didier Trono

EPF Lausanne

Prof. Effy Vayena

ETH Zürich

Ex officio members

Dr. Adrien Lawrence

Managing Director SPHN (SAMS)

Prof. Torsten Schwede

University of Basel/SIB


The NSB has overall strategic responsibilities for the whole network. Inter alia, it exercised the following duties and powers:


  • determine the strategic focus of SPHN;

  • decide on funds allocated to projects, upon proposal of the International Advisory Board (IAB);

  • supervise activities of other governing SPHN bodies;

  • represent the SPHN initiative to the outside, in collaboration with the Executive Board (EB).


For more information: Rules of Procedures; SPHN Factsheet.


  • Chair: Prof. Peter Meier-Abt
  • Vice-Chair: Prof. Urs Frey

Next NSB meetings

28. September 2017 (9h00 - 11h30)


2. November 2017 (9h00-11h30)


14. December 2017 (9h00-11h30)